Division Office Services

Wolf Creek Teacher Receives Zone Four Edwin Parr Award

Miss. Courtney Longjohn, a grade one teacher at Ponoka Elementary School, has been selected as the overall winner of the 2016 Zone 4 Edwin Parr Award for outstanding first year teachers.  Miss. Longjohn received her award in Innisfail on Monday, May 30th at a ceremony at which school jurisdictions from across Central Alberta recognized her and the other nominees for the prestigious award.

When asked about how she felt about winning the award, Miss. Longjohn commented, “I am honored to be this year's Zone 4 Edwin Parr winner from among a group of incredibly talented young teachers. A huge thanks goes to my colleagues, school administration, Wolf Creek Public Schools and my mentor teacher; Courtney Larsen. Without your constant support and words of encouragement I would not have been able to learn as much as I did this past year."

The Edwin Parr Award recognizes teachers who are new to the profession who show significant promise in their first year. Earlier this year, the eight school jurisdictions that form Zone 4 of the Alberta School Boards Association were invited to nominate a beginning year teacher who demonstrated outstanding attributes as a teacher.

Each nomination provided a written assessment of the nominee’s teaching skills, knowledge of student learning styles, skills at utilizing a variety of instructional methodologies, ability to assist students to develop a positive self-concept, involvement in professional development and extracurricular and community activities, as well as their interpersonal skills with students.

“Wolf Creek is truly honored to have Courtney receive the Zone 4 Edwin Parr Award. She represents what great teaching is all about in our school division; an unwavering commitment to meeting the needs of all her students in a diverse learning environment,” said Wolf Creek Public Schools Acting Assistant Superintendent, Corrine Thorsteinson. “We are incredibly proud of all of our new teachers and this prestigious award is recognition for the strong team approach throughout our division.”

Ponoka Elementary School Principal, Lois Spate, added, Miss Longjohn is very deserving of this prestigious award as she is an outstanding, gifted educator who shows both professionalism and dedication to the teaching profession.  She is an invaluable player to have on our Ponoka Elementary team.”

Edwin Parr was an Alberta homesteader who was involved in education for much of his adult life.  He instituted the annual teacher award many years ago, and his legacy continues today.  Each school board in Alberta may nominate one candidate for consideration at their zone level, and the Alberta School Boards Assocation then honours zone winners from across the province at their annual fall conference.


For more information, please contact:


Mrs. Corrine Thorsteinson

Acting Assistant Superintendent,

People Services

403-783-5441 x 1237